Fashion & Beauty

Burnt Orange and Scalloped Hems

For a casual night out, I opted for a sleek bodysuit and scalloped shorts — one of my favorite combos. I love high-neck tops and dresses; I find them to be so versatile and easy to dress up or down. I have a shirt that looks almost exactly like this in royal blue that I wear frequently, so when I saw this bodysuit while browsing online, I knew it would be another staple in my closet. Although, I have to admit, I was a little bummed when I received this piece in the mail; I was definitely expecting a red bodysuit based on the photos on Forever 21’s website, but I guess burnt orange works too. I still love the style just the same.

scallop3-edit

These shorts are a pair that I’ve had for years that also get lots of love. Again, another piece that is so easy to dress up or down (which is important in my closet). Both of the necklaces I’m wearing were gifts from a mom I babysat for in high school, who also happens to be a super cute and stylish blogger, Memoir of a Preppy Mom! She always gives the most thoughtful gifts.

As for the shoes, don’t expect me to wear any other pair while the weather is still warm. I’m so grateful for the block-heel trend; these are so comfortable and equally as stylish. I can wear them to brunch or to the bar without having to sit down from my feet hurting after an hour. Win-win!

For my makeup, I tried my new BB cream and foundation from my Ulta beauty haul that I shared on Instagram earlier this week. This is my first time using a BB cream, so I’ve been experimenting. I also have very oily skin, so I’m trying to figure out what combination provides the most long-lasting coverage. For this look, I used both the BB cream as well as the foundation. Both provide pretty light coverage, so I thought I would try layering them. They both also provide beautiful matte finishes — which is heavenly for my shiny skin — but they dry quickly, so you have to blend fast. Once I get a better feel for both of the products, I’ll provide a more extensive review along with some other foundations and makeup products that I’ve tried, especially for oily skin!

Find all my outfit and makeup details below!

Outfit Details:

Bodysuit: Forever 21, $11 (also, a very similar option with more colors)

Shorts: H&M, no longer available; similar options from H&M, ASOS, and SheIn (also, another similar nude pair from ASOS because they’re on sale and super cute!)

Heels: Merona by Target, $28

Earrings: H&M, $6

Short Bar Necklace: Circle Circle Jewelry, $45

Long Pendant Necklace: Kendra Scott, $70 (I think this is the same one I’m wearing. Like I said, it was a gift, so I’m not positive, but if it’s not the same then this one is very similar!)

Watch: Fossil (Georgia style no longer available in gold; available in rose gold and similar styles)

Bracelet: Altar’d State (no longer available; similar bracelet here)

Rings: Forever 21, $6

makeup.jpg

Makeup Details:

Primer: Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer, around $5-7

BB Cream: CoverGirl Clean Matte BB Cream in “Light 520,” around $8-9

Foundation: L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation in “Shell Beige 102,” around $9-13

Concealer: Bare Minerals Concealer Broad Spectrum SPF 20 in “Summer Bisque,” $20

Bronzer: Rimmel London Natural Bronzer in “021 Sun Light,” around $4-6

Blush: Bare Minerals Blush in “Golden Gate,” $21

Powder: Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in “001 Transparent,” around $4-6

Lipstick: NYX Matte Lipstick in “Whipped Caviar,” $6

Pretty much all of these products (everything minus Bare Minerals concealer and blush) can be found out drugstores, Target, Ulta, etc. The Bare Minerals products can be found at Ulta, Sephora or a Bare Minerals shop. Let me know if you have tried or decide to try any of these products! I’d love to know how you liked them.


Be sure to follow me on your favorite platform! Xo
fb twitter ig linkedin pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

